Organs and energy: An Overview of the Meridians

Traditional Chinese Medicine outlines the body with 12 main meridians, pathways along which the body's substances (energy, blood, fluid, essence and spirit) flow. These 12 meridians are paired in 6 yin/yang counterparts with related organ, function, emotion, color, most active time of day, element and chakra (from indian energy systems). While I have not been formally trained in TCM, I've spent some time researching, understanding and punk scrapbooking these main meridians and relating what I have learned in my kinesiology, massage, visceral manipulation, yoga and fitness training. I find the relationship between anatomical function and energetic flow fascinating.

In the meridian man below, you see the anterior meridian lines, placement of corresponding organs, chakras (circles running up the center), koshas (energy surrounding us, or the "subtle body") and "The Three Treasures" from TCM.

Meridians: heart, small intestine, pericardium, triple warmer, stomach, spleen, liver, gall bladder, kidney, bladder, large intestine and lung

Chakras: root (muladhara), sacral (svadhishthana), solar plexus (manipura), heart (anahata), throat (vishuddha), third eye (ajna), crown (sahasrara)

Koshas: physical body (annanamaya), energy body (pranamaya), emotional body (manomaya), wisdom body (vijnanamaya), bliss body (anandamaya)

3 Treasures: qi (vital force), jing (human essence), shen (consciousness)

Each Meridian is most active at a different time of day, represented by the clock encircling the yin/yang symbol. They are paired through yin (downward flowing) and yang (upward flowing) and each pair has a corresponding color and element.

In later posts, I will take a deeper dive into each of these meridian pairs and explain the significance of each and their corresponding components. Stay tuned!!

Thanks for reading,


24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All